Formerly, Fallen Daughter of a Duke 14

Chapter 14: The Reine

The Reine Mansion stood in a beautiful area east of the main street of Wurtz.
The garden where colorful roses bloom on the white brick wall showed the landlord’s good taste.
Sun said that the Reine emerged from a Barony, but Claire was impressed by the Mansion’s appearance, which incorporate fashion trend with the good old Paft culture.

Claire, who came to the Reine with Sun, was guided to the parlor.
She carefully sat on the soft sofa and thought,

((Is it gonna be okay… I’ll apologize to Sun if I’m not good enough.))
Her fingertips were cold, the inferiority complex from when she was treated as a failure resurfaced.

“It’ll be alright, Claire. If it’s you so it’ll be an easy win. I’ve been an intermediary for many tutors, so I’m sure of it.”
Realizing Claire’s state, Sun grinned from ear to ear.

“Thank you, Sun…”
Claire fixed a smile.
*clack*
A couple with gentle smile opened the door.
((They’re here…!))

“Hey, Sun. I heard about it. Is this Claire-jou?”
“Oh my, what a cute young lady.”
The greetings were moderate, then both husband and wife started talking about the matter at hand.
They were a couple with loud voice and lively image.

“Yes, that’s right. I met her at the referral office a while ago and immediately brought her here before she was taken by another noble.”
Sun answered playfully.

“I’m delighted to make your acquaintance. My name is Claire Marx.”
Claire was mindful not feel nervous, and greeted the couple in return.

The head of Reine squinted at Claire’s gesture and said,
“Yeah, it’s good. I’m John Reine. And here is my wife Marie.

“Nice to meet you, Claire. I’m glad my daughter’s tutor is such a lovely person.”
Madam Marie also looked at Claire joyfully.

((This means…))
Sun looked at Claire as if she had predicted this.
Somehow, she seemed to have passed the couple’s interview.

“We are, as you can see, an upstart noble. Haha. My dad used to be a nobleman; he built a mountain of business 15 years ago. I don’t know what to do with the money, so I donated it to country and church as soon as I could. Then I got a title. Hahaha.”
“That true. I was originally a town girl, y’know. Even if I suddenly join the social circle, I don’t understand a thing.”
The couple talked happily ever after.

What the couple told Claire just now was probably the social reputation of the Reine.
The hatred for an upstart noble seemed to be the same in every country.

((That’s why they couldn’t settle a tutor even under such favorable conditions.))
Claire became more and more fond of the gentleman who talked about the negative side of employment, and of the couple who tried to laugh brightly at even dark topics.

“Isabella, my daughter is 13 years old, but she hasn’t had tutor in a while. I would be very grateful if a lady like you would come, but…”
After having pleasant chat, the landlord talked to Claire, seemingly haggard.

Claire answered with a generous smile.
“I’d be delighted if I can be of help.”

―――――

Claire was happy to be hired as tutor, she was allowed to live in a room provided by the Reine.
She was surprised when she opened the door to the room where the Madam guided her.
((Is this an employee’s room!?))

It’s a studio type, but it’s wide. There was a fluffy sofa set, a canopy bed, and a simple shower in the room.

In addition, it was on the first floor with good sunlight. When she went to windowsill, there was a built-in terrace so that the garden can be enjoyed when the roses are in full bloom.
There was also a table set in terrace to enjoy a tea time with a garden-view.

“Madam, it’s a very beautiful room but… um… this room is…?”
It was not an employee’s room, Claire was confused by the size and interior of the room which was clearly a guest room, then Madam Marie answered joyfully.

“Do you like it? It’s actually a guest room. I can’t show a simple place to someone who had attended Northon’s Royal Academy. To be honest, they are much more noble than us.”

“No, no… Please let me stay in the same room as the others.”
“Oh… Even our employees were given about half-size of this room.”
The Madam continued and charmingly winked.

“I want Claire-sensei to teach Isabella how to think and behave like a lady. I wonder if you can use this room to remind you how it feels like to live as noble daughter.”

When her duty as a tutor was referred, Claire had no choice but to accept it.
“Very well. I will do my best to meet your expectations.”

((The Reine’s creed is to pay back to the employees and the people around them rather than filling their own stomach. Such wealth! From the perspective of social circles of pride and glory, it’s probably too dazzling.))
Claire presented a bow with the great respect in her heart.

Claire’s student, Isabella, was currently going on a villa for a break.
She was supposed to comeback a week from now, until then Claire was free to spend her time.

((I thought of doing some housework, but the Reine couple turned me down.))

“For now, should I write a letter to Viik and the others to tell them about my residence? It was resolved this fast! …Everyone will surely be surprised.”

And so, Claire wrote a letter to Viik in the Royal Palace.

Leave a comment